Questionable Motives

January 20, 2010

Is atheism just another belief?

Filed under: Argument,Atheism,belief,Religion — tildeb @ 3:21 pm

Consider this conversation between two people:

Believer:

“Of course Atheism is a religion, they believe in nothing. Atheists have faith that our god does not exist.

Atheist:

“So the fact that you christians don’t believe in allah means you have two religions? One faith for the christian god and one faith for not believing in the muslim god?”

2 Comments »

  1. I think Atheism is a belief in oneself, and humanity rather than a belief in things we can not observe.

    So in a sense it is a belief, but it is NOT the same kind of belief that a faith in a god is – which is nothing short of delusion.

    I believe in humanity, it gives me great hope knowing that humans can solve some big problems by applying their knowledge of the observable universe. I am thankful for living in a society that has the ability to provide healthcare, education, welfare and in the most part is relatively safe and secure. It gives me great pleasure to know that my life expectancy far outstrips my ancestors. And I know that if it was not for modern medical science I would have died at eleven, and would not have had the life privileges that I have now.

    Many Jehovah’s Witnesses, have tried to sell me their faith based on their belief that humanity is doomed – and that there will be an apocalypse; whether that be climate change, nuclear holocaust etc.

    I often find myself in conversations with them pointing out their negative view of the world. And whilst I see many wrongs in the world (i.e. I do not have rose tinted specs on), I think the best approach to tackling anything is optimism – if there is a problem in the world we should not give up on it; but should work together to resolve it. I also quietly explain to them; that the nuclear arms race has brought unimaginable destructive power to humanity – but ironically has also stabilised the world, and was also the for running for mans single most important achievement – the NASA Apollo missions. I also remind them that religion has been directly responsible for some of the worst atrocities ever recorded in history.

    People have to remember – life is an adventure; it is amazing as it is; there is no need to invent supernatural things – be happy with what you can see.

    Comment by misunderstoodranter — January 21, 2010 @ 5:30 pm | Reply

    • I think of it more as a natural/supernatural approach to understanding our world. I don’t know of any knowledge ever gained by believing in supernatural explanations of how the world works. Quite the opposite, in fact. Answers that allow for supernatural incursions seem to end rather than stimulate inquiry. But I am quite aware of many gains in reliable knowledge and workable applications based on an approach of coming to understand the natural world from natural causes and effects. When the two approaches are compared for efficacy, I think the supernatural approach is very much wanting.

      Comment by tildeb — January 21, 2010 @ 6:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

